don’t look for me

Don’t look for me
I don’t want to be found
Not unless you will kiss my heart
Wipe these tears away
Embrace me tightly
As if your survival depended on my love

Don’t look for me
Don’t give me hope
Don’t make me think I matter to you
Not unless you will look for me always

You are my sun
When you shine, I glow in the warmth of your rays
I prance the streets with excitement
Longing to feel the current in your touch
Stopping only to smell the jasmine tree
Captivated by its scent, looking forward to inhaling yours

When you are gone, I wither in darkness
The chilly air slices the atmosphere
Making it difficult to see my next step
As I drudge along to my next appointment
Hardly feeling, barely alive

I’d rather that the sun didn’t shine at all
I would rather live in a cave
Adapt to the darkness that surrounds me
See the moss for the fungus that it is
And the walls as part of something greater
Connected to the ancient and the future
And not a seaside resort or get-away

Don’t look for me
I don’t want to long for your love anymore
I don’t want to be found.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.