My little black dress

We’ve heard it said that every woman needs a little black dress.

It’s the dress that rescues you when you can’t find something to dress your emotions. On those days when you are feeling fat, that little niqqa knows how make you feel all skinny and shit.  On others when you are feeling low, it can be quite a picker upper especially if it has an inbuilt bustier.  And… on those days when you want to exude Va Va voom, there’s no other dress to lean on other than the LBD.

The LBD makes you look good; hides your flaws and brings out the best in any shape or figure.

I hasten to add that the little black dress can take many forms. Sometimes it can appear in the form of a friend; a loved one, an old flame, or even an experience.

Mine… lets just say, it comes in a masculine package.  He is my little black dress.  He is the one guy who no matter how crappy i feel or act, always makes me feel like a pearl – priceless and flawless.  He is a safe place to retreat especially when life isn’t as smooth sailing as I’d expect it.

You may ask, shouldn’t this be the space of Christ?  Of religion, or spirituality?  Perhaps.  Like i said, the LBD can come in many forms.

In this moment in time, mine comes in the form of this kindred spirit.  He is an old flame who might be the ‘LBD’ because his view is clouded by rose-coloured glasses.  Whatever the reason, I am grateful that he is right where he is … coming to my aid whenever i need support and affirmation.

Thank you my friend; you remain forever My LBD.

One thought on “My little black dress

  1. Pingback: Lady in red |

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.